← Back to the library

Product review · Updated September 30, 2026

BYOMA Acne Clearing Cleanser: pore claims beside hydration and barrier figures

The cleanser’s hydration headline, barrier percentage and ingredient-table discrepancy need separate interpretations.

Editorial source review, with no clinician sign-off or firsthand treatment experience claimed.

BYOMA’s Blemish Acne Clearing Cleanser places a pore-refinement story alongside prominent hydration and barrier figures. Its cream-like description can make those benefits seem like one comfortable cleansing result. Reading the precise endpoint and product record makes clear which claims concern appearance, acne, hydration or something else.

This examination uses the current 175 mL manufacturer page, an April 23, 2025 US label and bounded passages from the brand’s named cleanser-line article, obtained on September 30, 2026. No supplied package or full study report was inspected. A discrepancy involving GLUCOMANNAN remains in the public ingredient records, so this review does not certify one complete formula across all versions.

In this article

The creamy cleanser and liquid label name one item

The manufacturer page identifies Blemish Acne Clearing Cleanser as a creamy 175 mL cleanser with 2% salicylic acid. The US label describes the preparation as a liquid and identifies Byoma Limited. The wording differs in texture description and label form without establishing two distinct physical products.

The product’s acne-treatment purpose is stated in the label. A creamy description does not remove that purpose or establish that every reader will find it comfortable. Our format comparison addresses why preparation identity belongs beside the advertised concern. This review identifies the record, rather than an application amount, routine or best format for someone’s skin.

Hydration and barrier figures concern separate endpoints

The manufacturer headline advertises a 56% hydration figure and a barrier-strengthening figure of up to 51% in four days. The accompanying product description also discusses blemishes and redness. Their placement together does not make the two numerical figures measurements of reduced pore visibility or acne clearance.

The examined passages do not describe the participant group, comparator or measurement method behind the hydration and barrier figures. They remain advertising endpoints with that information missing here. Our claims and visible-pores guide explains why the named outcome matters. The four-day reference belongs to the brand’s reported context, not a response deadline or a suggested duration of use.

Pore refinement still needs its own measurement

The product page describes the acne cycle, texture and visible redness; the named cleanser article adds a pore-refinement message. That is a broader advertised story than the two numerical hydration and barrier headings. The examined record does not specify a pore scoring system, a participant denominator or a numerical pore result.

The AAD’s pore explanation identifies oiliness and irritation among the factors that can affect visibility. It does not evaluate this cleanser or validate the brand’s figures. Our visible-pores and blackheads guide keeps an appearance concern distinct from acne terminology. The combination of brand claims cannot establish what a particular visible feature represents.

Grouped ingredients are not one complete ordered list

The current web record organizes ingredients by their described roles. That grouped presentation is different from a single ordered declaration. The label also has a narrative inactive-ingredient passage and a structured ingredient table, which require their own reading rather than being presumed identical.

GLUCOMANNAN appears in the structured label table but not in the examined narrative inactive list or grouped web declaration. This review cannot resolve whether that discrepancy reflects a record, declaration or version issue. It should remain visible instead of being silently corrected. No bottle or manufacturer clarification was obtained, so the available records cannot certify a complete formula for an individual package.

The cleanser-line article has a broader role

The manufacturer’s August 28, 2026 line article names the creamy facial cleanser separately from the adjacent pimple-paste item. It helps establish where this item sits in the brand’s acne-related range. That identity context does not make every statement about the line a result for this cleanser.

Broader clinically-tested language in the examined article does not disclose a cleanser-specific population, method or report. The COSRX foam review is another exact-product reading, offered without judging which cleanser performs better. A named item and a general range description have different evidence roles, even when the manufacturer presents them in the same story.

Barrier advertising does not erase the label warning

The April 23, 2025 label includes acne-treatment wording and an irritation or dryness warning when another topical acne medication is involved. It also retains a severe-irritation qualification. These are product-context cautions; the barrier headline on the manufacturer page does not establish that they cannot apply.

FDA’s Drug Facts explanation distinguishes purpose, uses and warnings. Applied here, the acne purpose and reassuring barrier description do not replace the cautionary part of the label. They also do not establish a personal compatibility answer. The PanOxyl liquid review provides a separate evidence reading, without transferring its labeling or outcomes to BYOMA.

The useful question names the feature being assessed

The unresolved outcome question is which method and participant group support this cleanser’s pore claim separately from its hydration and barrier figures. The product page does not provide that link in the examined context. The label record supplies acne labeling and a dated ingredient record, while leaving the declaration discrepancy unresolved.

The source-check date does not establish a new formula or guarantee the version of a supplied bottle. What remains useful is a precise distinction between the named cleanser, its acne purpose, its appearance promises and its separately advertised numerical endpoints. A finished-cleanser report and an explanation of the ingredient records could clarify those questions; neither was acquired for this review.

Sources behind this reading

  1. Blemish Acne Clearing Cleanser ↗Manufacturer exact product, advertising and returned declaration · Checked September 30, 2026
  2. DailyMed - BYOMA ACNE CLEARING CLEANSER- salicylic acid liquid ↗Exact manufacturer/labeler OTC labeling record, not approval or inspected package · Checked September 30, 2026
  3. Barrier-Repair Products for Acne-Prone Skin ↗Named creamy facial cleanser distinguished from other acne-line items; broader narrative is not a product trial report · Checked September 30, 2026
  4. American Academy of Dermatology: making pores less noticeable ↗Medical society patient guidance · Checked September 30, 2026
  5. FDA: reading an OTC Drug Facts label ↗Regulator consumer labeling guidance · Checked September 30, 2026
See the complete source register →